size minus font plus  

  Judges & Judicial Council 



Home | Judges

Second Circuit Judges


Name Commission Date Status
Robert A. Katzmann, Chief Judge 07/16/1999 Active
Jon O. Newman 06/21/1979 Senior
Amalya L. Kearse 06/21/1979 Senior
Ralph K. Winter 12/10/1981 Senior
John M. Walker, Jr. 11/27/1989 Senior
Dennis Jacobs 10/02/1992 Senior
Pierre N. Leval 10/20/1993 Senior
Guido Calabresi 07/21/1994 Senior
José A. Cabranes 08/10/1994 Active
Chester J. Straub 06/03/1998 Senior
Rosemary S. Pooler 06/03/1998 Active
Robert D. Sack 06/16/1998 Senior
Barrington D. Parker 10/16/2001 Senior
Reena Raggi 10/04/2002 Senior
Richard C. Wesley 06/12/2003 Senior
Peter W. Hall 07/07/2004 Active
Debra Ann Livingston 05/17/2007 Active
Gerard E. Lynch 09/18/2009 Senior
Denny Chin 04/23/2010 Active
Raymond J. Lohier, Jr. 12/20/2010 Active
Susan L. Carney 05/17/2011 Active
Christopher F. Droney 12/01/2011 Senior
Richard J. Sullivan 10/17/2018 Active
Joseph F. Bianco 05/13/2019 Active
Michael H. Park 05/13/2019 Active


Judges are appointed to the United States Circuit Courts of Appeals pursuant to 28 U.S.C. § 44. The Federal Judicial Center maintains a list of the seventy-four judges who have served on the Second Circuit since 1891 with brief biographical information for each. The Administrative Office of the United States Courts separately maintains information about the creation of federal judgeships and the selection of judges.

Each circuit maintains a judicial council under 28 U.S.C. § 333. The council consists of an equal number of circuit judges and district judges from the circuit; the number is determined by majority vote of all circuit and district judges in regular active service in the circuit. No more than one district judge from each district may serve on the council unless at least one district court judge from each district located in the circuit is already serving. The council carries out those responsibilities described in 28 U.S.C. § 332.

Under 28 U.S.C. § 333, the chief judge of each circuit may summon, annually or biennially, circuit, district, magistrate, and bankruptcy judges of the circuit in active service to a conference for the purpose of considering the business of the Courts and advising means of improving the administration of justice within [the] circuit.


  Filing a Document (CM/ECF)
  Forms and Instructions